Urban Influence

Urban fashion is something very close to my heart. In my real life, I am greatly influenced by American designers and regional urban fashion. I live in the north east of the United States in Massachusetts and I find that where I live reflects in the way I dress. Now, I’m not talking about dressing for the weather or dressing according to class or anything like that. I mean there is a culture that is specific to the northeast, particularly the east coast, that drives my fashion sense. NYC is the fashion capitol of the northeast and the birth place of hip-hop. It is also the portal to the rest of the world’s perception of northeasterners, defining what we wear and what we consider “street chic”. Since I attended college in NYC and spent many summers traveling back and forth from Boston on the Greyhound bus  to do shopping on the weekends as a teen, I consider my sense of style to be a diverse hybrid of sorts. I have the preppy, New England side of me and my NYC divalicious “from the block” side fighting for the dominant role in my ensemble from day to day. Today, NYC won the fight with a one two KO to the face of New England. California (my second home for the first half of my life) snuck in a few jabs as well. This is evident in the 60s style colorblock mini dress from COCO. I believe urban fashion is all about where you’re from. It is not a simply defined genre of fashion. I also do not believe it means looking slutty or tough or even “ghetto”. It’s all about confidence, cultural influences and the loudest voice in terms of expressing individuality in the concrete jungle. If you have ever seen an ostrich do it’s mating dance or a male peacock show off it’s fabulous plumage, you know exactly what I am talking about.

COCO for GODIVAs of SL

Lush Limited for GODIVAs of SL

To purchase any of the products from this blog post, simply click the brand names below to be linked to their Marketplace or inWorld stores.

booNDUMANIMONSCOCOZeeryB L E ULUSH LimitedLoovus DzevavorPaperbagISON

About vikeejeah

Vikeejeah is a beauty blogger and Youtube beauty guru with a love for high end cosmetics. Her focus in on women of color, and the cosmetics best suited for their skin tones. Vikee is also a contributor for Boston Naturals.

Leave a Reply

